EEA and Norway Grants

Working Together for a Green, Competitive and Inclusive Europe.

Greece has received EEA Grants since 1994. Norway contributes around 95% of the total funding.

The EEA and Norway Grants represent Norway’s contribution to reducing social and economic disparities in the European Economic Area (EEA). The Grants scheme also strengthens ties and cooperation between Norway and the beneficiary countries.

The basis for the Grants scheme is the EEA Agreement, which forms the foundation of Norway’s cooperation with the EU. The Agreement provides for the free movement of persons, goods, services and capital, and access for Norwegian companies to a market with more than 500 million people. The EEA Agreement includes a common goal to work together to reduce social and economic disparities in Europe. Norway contributes towards this goal through the Grants scheme.