Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic our ability to give service to applicants for visas and residence permits has been affected. We are able to take interviews and collect DNA samples, however the capacity is reduced.

For information on the coronavirus situation, travel and entry restrictions to Norway, please visit: The Norwegian Directorate for Immigration: Corona information Q & A


  • EU/EEC citizens can visit and work in Norway for up to 90 days without any permit. After 90 days they have to register with the police.
  • With a residence permit from an EU country and a valid passport, you can visit Norway for a maximum period of 90 days without a visitor's visa. However, please note that there are additional rules you must follow. More information here: Visit Norway without a visa.