EEA and Norway Grants in Greece

EEA and Norway Grants - Photo:Embassy

Do you have an idea for a green, competitive and inclusive Europe?


Ongoing calls for proposals

Ongoing open calls are announced at the websites of the EEA and Norway Grants. You can also contact the EEA Grants Special Service at the Greek Ministry of Development & Investments: [email protected].


The agreement of the new funding period for Greece was signed in Athens in October 2017. Areas of support are:

  • Innovation, Business Development and SMEs
  • Roma inclusion and Empowerment
  • Local Development and Poverty Reduction
  • Water Management
  • Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency
  • Good governance, Accountable Institutions, Transparency
  • Asylum and Migration
  • Civil Society

What are the EEA and Norway Grants?
The Grants represent the contribution of Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein to reducing economic and social disparities, and strengthening cooperation with 15 EU countries. The basis for the Grants is the EEA Agreement. The Grants are about working across borders, striving for economic and social growth, and continuously aiming to build a better future.

How and where the Grants are channelled
has been decided jointly by the Greek state and the Donor countries. Their decisions are reflected in the Memorandum of Understanding 2014-2021 between Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein  and Greece. Details of the fundings are made in the various programmes' concept notes, following stakeholder consulatations which are inclusive dialogues with representatives from the Government, the wider public sector, the civil society, the academia and the private sector.

Norway and Greece signed a new cooperation agreement under the EEA Grants on 31 October 2017. The Norwegian State Secretary Jens Frølich Holte signed on behalf of Norway, while the Greek side was represented by the Alternate Minister for Economy and Development Alexis Charitsis. In this video they explain what the agreement is about and what the priority areas are. €116.7 million have been allocated to a total of 9 programmes and funds in Greece.

Previous funding periods - What has been achieved?

Greece has received funding since the EEA Agreement entered into force in 1994. Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein are joining forces in this funding, with Norway contributing the majority of the funding. You can here read a summary of what was achieved in previous funding periods, and below you will find an overview of what has been funded in the various funding periods.