Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of the Republic of Korea do not need a "visitor's visa" to stay in Norway for less than 90 days, but need a "residence permit" in order to work or to take up residence for longer than 90 days.

For questions regarding visitor’s visas to Norway for residents in South Korea who is a citizen of the countries which need a visa to enter Norway, please contact  VFS Global in Seoul.

Applications for residence permit must be submitted to VFS Global in Seoul who will forward the applications to the Embassy of Norway in Beijing, China. The Embassy of Norway in Beijing has a representation for residence permit applications for South Korean nationals and residents in Republic of Korea.

For information about entry and residence in Svalbard, please see