Norwegian Business Association (NBA)


Norwegian Business Association (NBA), Korea, was established on the initiative of the former Norwegian Ambassador to Korea, Arild Braastad during October 2002 as a continuation of a loosely organized meeting-place for Norwegians working for fully or partly owned Norwegian companies operating in Korea.

The intention of the reorganization is to make the cooperation within the Norwegian Business community more formal and create a representative and powerful body serving Norwegian business interests in Korea. The objective of the NBA is to provide a forum for discussions about matters of common interest and by lawful means exchange views and information between Norwegian companies and firms in Korea working with or representing Norwegian business interests in the country. It is also an important objective for the association that the members are not only Norwegians, but we will warmly welcome also Koreans and other nationals. The association can only be successful if it’s able to create a meeting place where the issues of mutual importance are in focus so therefore the themes of the meetings have to be such that they attract the interest regardless of nationality.

We also hope that the NBA, Korea, can represent a place where Norwegian business interests who are looking for opportunities in the country, can seek advice and learn from others who have been present in the country for a longer or shorter period of time.

The office of the Association is at the Norwegian Embassy in Seoul.  The organization is, however, independent and non-profit, and the Membership fee is supposed to be low. The members of the Board will be elected among the members of the organization. In addition, a representative from the Norwegian embassy joins both BoD meetings and regular NBA meetings as an observer.

Chairman:                        Ian Edwards (DNV GL)

Vice Chairman:                Elin Sagbråten (Innovation Norway/Commercial Counsellor, Norwegian Embassy) 

Board Member:                Youngshik Yoon (KFF Group)

Board Member:                Sean Lee (Jordan Asia Pacific)

Board Member:                YoungShin Ahn (IKM Testing)

Board Member:                Christian Hertzenberg (DNV GL)

Observer:                         Marianne Damhaug (Minister Counsellor, Norwegian Embassy)

Contact Info. 

Ms. Yeunkyung Yoo, secretary of NBA Korea

Tel. +822 727 7157  Email. 


Members of NBA

The following list shows the member companies of Norwegian Business Association (NBA Korea) as of 17 April 2017.

DNV GL Korea

Chokwang Jotun

EUKOR Car Carriers

Wartsila Korea

Kongsberg Maritime Korea

Kongsberg Automotive

Odfjell Terminals Korea

Scana Korea Hydraulics

Wilhelmsen Ships Service

Win Win Seafood

Innovation Norway

Statoil ASA

Norwegian Seafood Export Council

Yoon & Yang LLC


Trainor Korea

Norwegian Defence Material Agency (NDMA)

Tamrotor Marine Compressors (TMC)

IKM Testing Korea

Nemko Korea

Stressman Engineering AS


Jordan Korea

Axess Group

Tundra Holdings

Marine Aluminium

ABB Marine

ECCK (European Chamber of Commerce) Korea

French Korean Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FKCCI)

Royal Norwegian Embassy ( Observer )