Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

The Norwegian Embassy in Kampala do not process visa applications and residence permits. The Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi handles Schengen visas and residence permit applications for nationals going to Norway, from Uganda, Burundi and Rwanda. The Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi also handles Schengen visa applications from Uganda on behalf of Lithuania and Iceland. Please contact for more information about the application process.

COVID-19: New entry measures to apply when travelling to Norway (26 November 2021):

As of 26 November 2021, entry restrictions due to Covid-19 are lifted, and foreigners who have the right to enter Norway under the Immigration Act may travel to Norway. You must apply for a visa if this is required.

However, new and more strict measures in relation to registration, testing and quarantine will also take effect as of 26 November. You must familiarize yourself with these measures before entering the Schengen area. If you do not comply with all entry measures in force, you will be refused entry to Norway.

One of the new measures is a requirement to register before arrival in Norway. All travelers (except children under 16) entering Norway must complete an entry registration form: You will need to present proof of entry registration for inspection on arrival.

For information on the current measures in Norway, please visit:

General information: 

Citizens of Uganda must apply for a visitor's visa if they wish to visit Norway for 90 days or less. Likewise, citizens of Uganda need a residence permit in order to work or to take up residence for longer than 90 days.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the representation agreement Norway has with Lithuania in Uganda has been temporarily suspended until further notice. 

For information about the application procedures and requirements for other nationals, please select your country from the list on 

For more information on how to apply for a Schengen visa or residence permit, please visit the Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi's website.

Services for applicants 
Due to the Covid-19 pandemic our ability to provide services for applicants who wish to apply for visas and residence permits has been affected. 

Please note the following: 

VFS Global: VFS' Visa Application Center in Kampala is open, but with reduced capacity. Please visit for more information and to make an appointment. 

Representation agreements: Norway represents Iceland in Uganda. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the representation agreement Norway has with Lithuania for handling Schengen visa applications in Uganda has been temporarily suspended until further notice.

Interviews: Interviews may be carried out in Nairobi, Kampala, Dar es Salaam and to a limited extent in Khartoum. At the moment, it is not possible for interviews to be carried out in Addis Ababa, as VFS is temporarily closed. 

DNA-tests: DNA-samples may be collected at our missions in Nairobi, Addis Ababa, Kampala, Dar es Salaam and to a limited extent, Khartoum, upon appointment. Our missions will contact applicants in cases where DNA-samples are to be collected. It is therefore not necessary for applicants to contact the missions to make an appointment. 

Important information notice from Schengen Member States

According to Article 12 (a) of the Regulation (EC) No. 810/2009, commonly known as “Visa Code”, the validity of a travel document shall extend at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Schengen Member States.

According to an official notification from the Kenyan authorities issued to all diplomatic missions, all Kenyan passports – except the new East African Community biometric e-Passport – will be rendered invalid from 1 September 2019.

The Schengen Member States therefore wish to inform the Kenyan public that from 1 June 2019 ONLY the new East African Community biometric e-Passport can be accepted for Schengen visa applications.