Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Kenya need to apply for a visitor's visa to enter Norway. If you plan to stay longer than 90 days, you need to apply for a residence permit to enter Norway. 

Regional handling of applications

The Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi is the regional hub for East Africa in migration cases, and is responsible for handling visa and residence permit cases from the following countries: Kenya, Tanzania, Somalia, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Eritrea, Djibouti, South Sudan and Comoros.

In addition to the above-mentioned countries, the Embassy receives residence permit applications from Ethiopia, Sudan, the Seychelles, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Yemen.

Please follow the step-by-step process as described in the "Visitor's visa" and "Residence permit" section below depending on what type of permit you would like to apply for.

Important information notice
from Schengen Member States

According to Article 12 (a) of the Regulation (EC) No. 810/2009, commonly known as “Visa Code”, the validity of a travel document shall extend at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Schengen Member States.

According to an official notification from the Kenyan authorities issued to all diplomatic missions, all Kenyan passports – except the new East African Community biometric e-Passport – will be rendered invalid from 1st of March 2020. The Schengen Member States therefore wish to inform the Kenyan public that from 1st of December 2019 ONLY the new East African Community biometric e-Passport can be accepted for Schengen visa applications.