The Holberg Prize 2022

The 2022 Holberg Prize is awarded to U.S. scholar Sheila Sen Jasanoff for her pioneering research in the field of Science and Technology Studies.

Sheila Sen Jasanoff is Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. As one of the world’s most influential scholars in developing the field of Science and Technology Studies (STS), Jasanoff has forged a unique, interdisciplinary body of research at the intersection of the Social Sciences, Humanities, Arts for People & Economy (SHAPE) and STEM disciplines.

About the Holberg Prize

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to research in the humanities, social science, law or theology, either in one of these fields or through interdisciplinary work.

The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament 1 July 2003, and was awarded for the first time in 2004. The objective of the prize is to increase awareness of the value of academic scholarship in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology. The Prize is worth NOK 6,000,000 (approximately EUR 600,000 / USD 670,000). The Prize is named after the Danish-Norwegian writer Ludvig Holberg, who excelled in all of the sciences covered by the award.

The Award Ceremony is held in June, at the University of Bergen, Norway.

Read more here: