Visitor's visa

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other countries in the Schengen area for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days.

Citizens of India, Bhutan and Nepal must apply for a visitor’s visa to Norway and/or Schengen.

For nationals of other countries:

Other categories:

  • For Nepal, Norway is handling visa applications on behalf of Iceland. If you are travelling to Iceland, you are to follow the same process as if you were to apply for a visa to Norway. If you are applying for a residence permit to Iceland, please contact the Icelandic Directorate of Immigration, as Norway does not handle residence permits on their behalf.
  • Indian Diplomatic passport holders who are travelling to Norway in an official capacity are exempted from visa.

Please note that the case processing time may take up to 21 working days in the high season. Read our tips for a smooth and fast application process here!

More information on all visa categories can be found under section 2 "Gather the necessary documentation".