EEA and Norwegian Grants Fund for Regional Cooperation

Croatian organizations and entities will be able to compete for funding from the new Fund for Regional Cooperation, worth in total EUR 34.5 million. Out of the total amount, about 112 million kuna (EUR 15 million) are made available in the first call. This funding opportunity for Croatian organizations comes in addition to financial allocation of EUR 102.3 million via the EEA and Norway Grants.

The Fund for Regional Cooperation, which was officially launched in Brussels earlier today, focuses on supporting regional cross-border and transnational project initiatives. It aims to solve some of the shared European challenges with improved multilateral collaboration and cross-border networking. While the EEA and Norway Grants predominantly reflect national priorities of Croatia and of other beneficiary countries of the grants, the Fund for Regional Cooperation looks beyond the national borders and even beyond the European Union. Namely, it gives funding opportunity to 10 non-EU countries that border on a beneficiary country.

One of the formal conditions that all eligible entities must satisfy is to form a consortium consisting of members from a minimum of three countries. Norwegian partners may be invited to participate as technical experts.

It is possible to apply for funding for projects within any of the priority sectors under the EEA and Norway Grants, for example projects in the areas of innovation, business development, health, research, social inclusion, environment and climate change, culture, civil society, protection of fundamental rights, migration, and the judicial system/correctional services. Read more about priority sectors here: Priorities for the EEA and Norway Grants.

Norwegian partners may be invited to participate as technical experts.

Entities in these countries are eligible for funding: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine.

For more details about the fund please visit the dedicated webpage: Fund for Regional Cooperation.