Travel and border information for Norway in Norwegian / English

Traveling to Norway? - Register your arrival in our traveler registry
(About the registry)

Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

The Norwegian Embassy in Pretoria is responsible for processing applications for Schengen visas and residence permits from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi and South Africa.

In addition, the Embassy is also responsible for residence permit applications from Angola, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

For information about the application procedures and requirements for applicants outside South Africa, kindly select your country from the list on