Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

If you are a citizen of Serbia and are a holder of a biometric passport you do not need a visa to visit Norway.

Persons who do not need a visa to visit Norway (visa-free) - UDI

For information on residence permit applications or visa applications from third country nationals in Serbia, please see the webpages of the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Ankara // as Ankara is regional hub for visa and immigration cases. Applications for visitor's visa and residence permit for Norway from Serbia must be handed in at VFS Global Belgrade.


COVID-19: Extraordinary entry rules to Norway have been lifted, but new entry measures apply when travelling

The entry restrictions introduced due to the corona situation have been lifted. All foreigners who have the right to entry according to the rules of the Immigration Act can travel to Norway now. You can travel to Norway if you:

    • have a valid residence permit, or you have a right of residence in Norway
    • have a valid visitor´s visa or entry visa to Norway
    • have the right to visit Norway without a visa

This means that there are no entry restrictions to Norway due to the corona situation now, but there are new and stricter requirements for registration, testing when you travel into Norway and quarantine. You must familiarize yourself with these measures before entering the Schengen area. If you do not comply with all entry measures in force, you will be refused entry to Norway.

Requirements upon entry

Also, more information can be found here.