Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Norway introduces its strictest entry rules since March 2020

From midnight on Friday 29 January, stringent rules apply for entry into Norway for citizens from all countries.

Most people cannot travel to Norway now without belonging to one of the exceptions.

This applies to citizens of all countries, including citizens from the EU/EEA and Nordic citizens.

These categories cannot travel to Norway now:

  • Tourists
  • family members not listed under the Exceptions: close family members section
  • boyfriend/girlfriend or fiancé
  • EU/EEA citizens (including Nordic citizens) who are going to work or study in Norway, and who do not belong to any of the exceptions listed below
  • business travelers
  • foreigners who have been granted a Schengen visa, but who do not belong to any of the exceptions below
  • persons who have leisure property in Norway, but are not resident here

For list of persons who can travel to Norway now and further information, please refer to the UDI webpages:


Which persons can travel to Norway on a visa now?

It is now possible to visit ONLY the following family members in Norway:

  • spouse or registered partner
  • cohabitant with joint children, or cohabitants without children who have lived together for more than two years
  • children or stepchildren (under 18)
  • parents or stepparents (to children under 18)

Please note that no exemptions are to be granted from quarantine duty or from ordinary provisions of the Immigration Act. The usual requirements for visa and entry will apply.


New entry-requirements before and upon arrival in Norway

Please note that there are very strict entry requirements to Norway now due to the pandemic. Here are the main requirements before, upon and after arrival:

  • Registration requirement for all people entering Norway

All people entering Norway must register themselves as part of infection control. The amendment enters into force Monday 21 December 2020. Please read more about this, and how to register here.

  • Negative Covid-test taken maximum 24 hours before travelling to Norway
  • Mandatory Covid-19-testing for travellers to Norway upon arrival

This new requirement of testing after arrival in Norway comes in addition to the requirement to have a negative Covid-19-pcr-test before travelling to Norway.

  • 10-days quarantine-requirement (for several categories of travellers the quarantine will be in a hotel)

The rules and regulations are currently changing quite often, you must therefore make sure to update yourself on the latest regulation at HelseNorge


Citizens of Georgia who are holders of a biometric passport do not need a visitor's visa.

If you are not a holder of a biometric passport and need a visa, please contact the French Embassy in Tbilisi which handles visa applications on behalf of Norway.

You must normally have NOK 500 available for each day of your stay in Norway. Please note that you may be asked to document this when you enter Norway. Read more at UDI's website.

The Royal Norwegian Embassy in Ankara, Turkey is responsible for residence cases from Georgia. Please refer to our webpages for updated information

 Applications are to be submitted through VFS Global in Azerbaijan.