Item 10 - Interactive dialogue with the High Commissioner on the oral update on Ukraine (JST Denmark 4.10.2022)

Joint statement by the Group of Friends of Accountability Following the Aggression against Ukraine

Delivered by H.E. Ambassador Erik Brøgger Rasmussen,
Permanent Representative of Denmark

October 4, 2022

Mr. President,

I am delivering this statement on behalf of the 46 member states of the Group of Friends of Accountability Following the Aggression against Ukraine.

We condemn in the strongest possible terms Russia’s illegal sham “referenda” in Ukraine and the announced illegal, attempted annexation of Donetsk, Kherson, Luhansk, and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine. We urge the international community to condemn the attempted annexation and to join us in support of Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders. We reaffirm that any annexation of a State’s territory by another State resulting from the threat or use of force is a violation of the UN Charter and international law and without legal effect under international law.  

Mr. President,

We are equally devastated by the discoveries of mass graves in the formerly Russian-controlled areas of Ukraine, recently in Izyum, and the increasing number of civilian casualties across the country. We remain deeply alarmed about the continuing and widespread reports of human rights abuses and violations and violations of international humanitarian law in Ukraine, including those stemming from Russia’s reported filtration policy.

This filtration policy is designed to intimidate and harass local populations, identify individuals whom Russia deems insufficiently compliant or opposed to its aggression and temporary control, suppress Ukrainian identity, and lay the groundwork for the continued “Russification” and attempted, illegal annexation of parts of a sovereign Ukraine. 

The filtration operations are reported to include practices of torture of civilians and military forces, as well as the separation of families, including forced adoption of Ukrainian children, confiscation of Ukrainian passports, issuance of Russian passports, and surveillance.

Evidence is mounting that Russian authorities are also reportedly detaining or making disappear thousands of Ukrainian civilians during the filtration processes, with reports that some civilians have been summarily executed.

We call on Russia to immediately halt its pervasive filtration operations, arbitrary detentions, and forced deportations and disappearances and to promptly release those arbitrarily detained, and allow all citizens, particularly children to promptly and safely return home. 

We recall obligations under international human rights law and international humanitarian law prohibiting torture and inhuman treatment of detainees and strongly condemn all reported cases of torture and ill-treatment. 

We furthermore express deep concern about the grave effects of Russia’s war against Ukraine on global food and energy security, which particularly affects developing countries and persons in vulnerable situations.  

Mr. President,

We reaffirm our full solidarity with Ukraine and its courageous people in their defence of their country and of the UN Charter. And we express our unwavering commitment to the independence, sovereignty and respect for the territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders.

Thank you.



  1. Albania
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Belgium
  5. Bosnia-Herzegovina
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Canada
  8. Colombia
  9. Croatia
  10. Cyprus
  11. Czechia
  12. Denmark
  13. Estonia
  14. Finland
  15. France
  16. Georgia
  17. Germany
  18. Greece
  19. Guatemala
  20. Iceland
  21. Ireland
  22. Italy
  23. Japan
  24. Latvia
  25. Liechtenstein
  26. Lithuania
  27. Luxembourg
  28. Malta
  29. Marshall Islands
  30. Montenegro
  31. Netherlands
  32. New Zealand
  33. North Macedonia
  34. Norway
  35. Poland
  36. Portugal
  37. Republic of Korea
  38. Romania
  39. Slovakia
  40. Slovenia
  41. Spain
  42. Sweden
  43. Switzerland
  44. Ukraine
  45. United Kingdom
  46. United States