Travel and border information for Norway in Norwegian / English

Traveling to Norway? - Register your arrival in our traveler registry
(About the registry)

Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Information to applicants in Myanmar: Applications for visitor’s visas and residence permits for Norway are handled by the Norwegian Embassy in Bangkok, Thailand. All applications are to be submitted through VFS Global in Yangon.

(Since January 1st 2021 Germany no longer represents Norway in these matters) 

Please note that VFS in Yangon is temporary closed due to the imposed covid-19 related restrictions.

For more information, you can contact the visa section of the Norwegian Embassy in Bangkok at