Nansen 2019 - Photo:Photo : Permanent Mission of Norway
Photo : Permanent Mission of Norway

2019 Nansen Refugee Award Goes to…

Kyrgyz human rights lawyer, Azizbek Ashurov, won the 2019 Nansen Refugee Award. The Award Ceremony, supported by Norway, took place in Geneva on 7 October 2019.

Working with his team in Ferghana Valley Lawyers, human-rights advocate Azizbek Ashurov has helped thousands of stateless people in Kyrgyzstan to receive citizenship. Ashurov received this year’s Nansen Refugee Award for his 16-year commitment to support the efforts of the Kyrgyz Republic to become the first country in the world to end statelessness. Read more about Ashurov’s work here.

The Nansen Refugee Award is awarded yearly to an individual or an organization who does outstanding work for refugees, internally displaced persons and stateless people. The award highlights the humanitarian spirit and legacy of the Norwegian explorer, diplomat and scientist, Fridtjof Nansen, who served as the world’s first High Commissioner for Refugees.

UNHCR Goodwill Ambassador, Leanne Manas, Venezuelan singer, Danny Ocean and Lebanese filmmaker, Nadine Labaki, were among the guests who honored the laureate. Norway supports the Award, and contributes to the prize money. Norwegian State Secretary Marianne Hagen, participating at the UNHCR Executive Committee, attended the Award Ceremony.