Item 3 - Interactive dialogue with the Special Rapporteur on the rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association. JST Lithuiania. (28.06.2024)

56th Session of the Human Rights Council

Item 3 - Interactive dialogue with the Special Rapporteur on the rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association.   

Joint statement on the situation in Georgia


Mr President,

I deliver this statement on behalf of a group of 35 countries and my own, Lithuania.

We echo the concern expressed by the High Commissioner in his global update regarding recent developments in Georgia, and particularly the adoption of the so-called “transparency of foreign influence” law.  This law poses a serious threat to civil society, human rights and the rule of law in Georgia.

The law is intended to have a chilling effect on the work of media outlets, human rights defenders, and civil society organisations, with the aim of silencing their voices.

The law was passed in disregard for concerns of large parts of the Georgian people and despite repeated calls to refrain from advancing the legislation from the international community, including the Venice Commission’s detailed legal arguments.

We urge the Georgian government to revoke the “transparency of foreign influence” law”, to end the campaign of intimidation against those objecting to the law and protect freedom of expression, association and peaceful assembly.

Civil society is the backbone of democracies, helping to ensure accountability, genuine transparency and resilience to malign influences.

We urge the Georgian Government to fully cease and transparently investigate all acts of the use of force against peaceful protesters who oppose the law, take appropriate action to ensure the safety of protestors, civil society or opposition activists, journalists and other media workers and refrain from rhetoric which could further fuel the extreme polarization in the country. An orchestrated campaign of defamation, intimidation, and physical violence against civil society leaders and others is unacceptable and must be halted.

I thank you.


  1. Albania
  2. Austria
  3. Belgium
  4. Bulgaria
  5. Canada
  6. Croatia
  7. Cyprus
  8. Czech Republic
  9. Denmark
  10. Estonia
  11. Finland
  12. France
  13. Germany
  14. Greece
  15. Iceland
  16. Ireland
  17. Italy
  18. Latvia
  19. Liechtenstein
  20. Lithuania
  21. Luxembourg
  22. Malta
  23. Monaco
  24. Montenegro
  25. Netherlands
  26. Norway
  27. Poland
  28. Portugal
  29. Romania
  30. Slovenia
  31. Spain
  32. Sweden
  33. Switzerland
  34. Ukraine
  35. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  36. United States of America.