Item 2: JST presented by Nicaragua core group – General Debate on High Commissioner oral updates (14.10.21)

- presented by Nicaragua core group.

HRC 48th Session
Item 2 - 
General Debate on High Commissioner oral updates. 


14 September, 2021

Madam President,

I make this intervention on behalf of 50 countries, the full list of which will be available on the extranet.

We thank the High Commissioner for her oral update on the human rights situation in Nicaragua. The escalation of human rights violations as the November elections approach is particularly worrisome.

We are deeply concerned by the reports of arbitrary detentions and general intimidation against political opponents, student and civil society leaders, journalists and human rights defenders.

Despite persistent calls from the international community and the violations of international obligations that these acts imply, the number of detainees and reports of intimidation continues to increase.

We once again urge the Government of Nicaragua to immediately release all political detainees, refrain from reprisals and all acts of intimidation.

We are troubled by the Government’s implementation of recently enacted laws that undermine political participation, media freedom, freedom of expression, peaceful assembly and association, the separation of powers and the democratic system as a whole.

The events that occurred in recent months, cast doubt on the legitimacy and would make highly difficult to assess the upcoming November 7th elections in Nicaragua as being free, fair and transparent.   

We urge Nicaragua to ensure the protection of human rights, bring to account those responsible for the human rights violations perpetrated since April 2018, resume dialogue with the international community and restore confidence and respect for democracy in the country.


Thank you.


List of signatory States:


  1. Albania
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Belgium
  5. Brazil
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Canada
  8. Chile
  9. Colombia
  10. Costa Rica
  11. Croatia
  12. Cyprus
  13. Czech Republic
  14. Denmark
  15. Ecuador
  16. Estonia
  17. Finland
  18. France
  19. Georgia
  20. Germany
  21. Greece
  22. Hungary
  23. Iceland
  24. Italy
  25. Ireland
  26. Latvia
  27. Liechtenstein
  28. Lithuania
  29. Luxemburg
  30. Malta
  31. Marshall Islands
  32. Montenegro
  33. Netherlands
  34. New Zealand
  35. North Macedonia
  36. Norway
  37. Paraguay
  38. Peru
  39. Poland
  40. Portugal
  41. Republic of Korea
  42. Romania
  43. Slovakia
  44. Slovenia
  45. Spain
  46. Sweden
  47. Switzerland
  48. Ukraine
  49. United Kingdom
  50. United States of America