Joint statement on Georgia

JOINT STATEMENT on behalf of 46 countries, 28 September 2016

Mr. President, 

This statement is delivered on behalf of 46 countries.

We support the activities of the OHCHR and other UN actors in Georgia and welcome the cooperation of the Government of Georgia with the OHCHR and its Office in Tbilisi.

In this context, we note the report of the High Commissioner for Human Rights of 13th of September where he expressed deep concern over the repeated refusals to permit OHCHR staff access to Georgia's regions of Abkhazia and the Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia bythose in control of these regions.

The international community remains deeply concerned by the human rights and humanitarian situation in both Georgian regions and the repeated denial of access to international actors, including Special Procedures and regional organizations to the regions.

We recall the UN High Commissioner's assessment of the situation in both regions, during the last visit to Georgia in May 2014 and the refusal of those in control to allow the OHCHR the access to these regions.

We continue to call for safe and unhindered access by international and regional human rights mechanisms to both regions for the benefit of all conflict-affected persons and those in need of protection.

It is of an utmost importance to assist international monitors in conducting an objective and independent reporting of the situation on the ground.

We reiterate our strong support for the territorial integrity, independence and sovereignty of Georgia, within its internationally recognized borders.

List of Countries: Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, UK, USA.