Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Lithuania do not need a visitor's visa or residence permit.

If you are a citizen of an EU/EEA country or Switzerland, you do not need a residence permit, but must register with the police within three months of arriving in Norway.

The Norwegian embassy in <country> does not handle visa or residence permit applications. You can apply at one of the following Norwegian embassies: Athens, Rome, Madrid, Berlin, Copenhagen, Stockholm, Hague, Bern or Reykjavik.

If you do not have permission allowing you to travel within the Schengen area, but just have a permit valid for the Schengen country you are in, you must travel to your country of origin and apply for a visa or a residence permit at the closest Norwegian foreign mission.”