Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Ireland do not need a visitor's visa or residence permit.

Other rules may apply for citizens of other countries.

The Danish Embassy in Dublin handles visa and residence permit applications on behalf of Norway. You will find more information on the Danish Embassy's visa page. For inquiries, please contact the Royal Danish Embassy's visa section,