Visitor's visa

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other countries in the Schengen area for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days.

Citizens of Romania do not need a visitor's visa. Information to applicants residing in Romania: Applications for visitor’s visa and residence permit for Norway are handled by the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara, Turkey. You may submit your application at one of the VFS Global application centers in Kosovo, Serbia or Turkey which collaborate with the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara. Currently the closest VFS Global application center is in Prishtina in Kosovo. However, on 2nd of September VFS will open an application center for Norway in Belgrade.

We would like to bring the attention to the importance of the following:

  • You should make sure to hand in your visa application at least 25 days before your planned date of travel. This is important because it will take several days sending your application back and forth to Ankara for processing. Normal caseprocessing time when the Embassy in Ankara has received your visa application is 15 days.
  • If you apply for a residence permit, please note that the Embassy must have your passport together with the application in order to perform ID-control according to instructions from Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Norway. Therefore, when applying from Kosovo, Turkey or Serbia (from 2nd of September) you should make the necessary arrangements to stay in Kosovo, Turkey or Serbia while the Embassy examines the passport as this may take up to seven (7) days.

Certain rules apply to visa free travel. Details can be found on the UDI’s website: Visit Norway without a visa 

For nationals of other countries: