Joint Statement of the Group of Friends of Georgia

Delivered by Poland to the Permanent Council, Vienna, 13 June 2019

The Friends of Georgia - Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Sweden, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States of America - do not recognize as legitimate the so-called parliamentary elections held in Georgia’s South Ossetia region on June 9. We do not acknowledge their outcome. They do not build confidence in the region. Abkhazia and South Ossetia are integral parts of Georgia. We once again call on Russia to uphold all its commitments under the 2008 ceasefire. We reiterate our strong support for Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders. We give our full support to negotiations in the framework of the Geneva International Discussions.

Thank you, Mr. Chair.

Joint Statement of the Group of Friends of Georgia.pdf