Horizon Europe - Photo:European Commission
European Commission

EU Programmes

Through the EEA Agreement and bilateral agreements with the EU, Norway currently participates in 11 EU programmes and 32 EU agencies. In addition, Norway participates in the work of five agencies that manage EU programmes.

The EEA EFTA states participate on an equal footing with EU member states. Areas covered include anything from research cooperation and statistics to health and traffic safety.

Programmes, 2021-2027:

  • Horizon Europe
  • Erasmus+
  • European Space Programme
  • European Defence Fund (EDF)
  • Digital Europe Programme (DIGITAL)
  • EU4Health
  • Single Market Programme
  • The European Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM)
  • Creative Europe
  • The EU programme for Employment and Social Innovation (EaSI) strand under the European Social Fund Plus (ESF+)
  • InvestEU

Norway also has a bilateral arrangement for participation in interregional programmes under the EU’s Regional Policy.


As of 2022, Norway participates in the following EU agencies:

  • Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER)
  • Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA)***
  • European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders (FRONTEX)**
  • European Agency for Safety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA)
  • European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
  • European Banking Authority (EBA)
  • European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)
  • European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP)
  • European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
  • European Defence Agency (EDA)*
  • European Environment Agency (EEA)
  • European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)
  • European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (EUROFOUND)
  • European GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) Supervisory Authority
  • European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT)
  • European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA)
  • European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)
  • European Medicines Agency (EMA)
  • European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA)*
  • European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA)
  • European Railway Agency (ERA)
  • European Research Council Executive Agency (ERC)***
  • European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA)
  • European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB)
  • European Union Agency for Criminal Justice Cooperation (Eurojust)*
  • European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation (EUROPOL)*
  • European Union Agency for the Operational Management of Large-Scale IT Systems in the Area of Freedom, Security and Justice‚Äč (eu-LISA)**
  • European Union Satellite Centre (EUSC)*
  • Research Executive Agency (REA)***
  • European Police College (CEPOL)
  • European Asylum Support Office (EASO)
  • European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency (EISMEA, formerly EASME)


* Bilateral agreement between the EU and Norway

** Norway participates through its Schengen membership

*** Norway participates through related programmes