EU Statement on the 28th Anniversary of the Srebrenica genocide

OSCE Permanent Council 1432 , Vienna, 13 July 2023

On 11 July, we commemorated the 28th anniversary of the genocide in Srebrenica. We extend our deepest sympathies to the survivors and to the families and friends of those who have suffered and those who have lost their lives.

Twenty-eight years ago, one of the darkest pages of European history was written. This commemoration reminds us of our responsibility to prevent such atrocities from ever happening again.

Russia’s illegal, unjustified and unprovoked war of aggression against Ukraine has brought back a brutal war to our continent, and reminds us that we cannot take peace for granted. As we see the security and stability of Europe and the rules-based international order, anchored in the UN Charter and OSCE principles and commitments, profoundly shaken, we are reminded ever more strongly of the need to stand up to defend peace, human dignity and universal values.

In commemorating the consequences of armed conflict and remembering the victims, the European Union reiterates its commitment to Bosnia and Herzegovina's sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity. As a candidate country, Bosnia and Herzegovina's future lies within the European Union.

Reconciliation can only be built upon truth, peace, and justice. There can be no tolerance for genocide denial, historical revisionism, and glorification of war criminals. All civil and political leaders in Bosnia and Herzegovina have the responsibility to work together to build a better future based on dialogue and mutual understanding to strengthen and defend peace and human dignity for the benefit of all generations.

The Candidate Countries TÜRKIYE, NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ALBANIA*, UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA*, the Potential Candidate Country GEORGIA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as ANDORRA, and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process