EU Statement on the early parliamentary elections in Armenia

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1321, Vienna, 24 June 2021.

The European Union welcomes that, according to the preliminary conclusions of the International Election Observation Mission, the 20 June early parliamentary elections in Armenia were competitive and generally well-managed despite a tight timeframe. Voters were provided with a broad range of options, and fundamental rights and freedoms were generally respected, with contestants being able to campaign freely. The election day, including the vote count, was assessed positively overall.

However, as also noted by the Observation Mission, the electoral campaign was marked by intense polarisation and marred by increasingly inflammatory rhetoric among key contestants, hindering a policy-focused debate. We also regret that, as noted by the Mission, women were notably side-lined during the election campaign. We continue to encourage the Armenian authorities to address the OSCE/ODIHR recommendations in order to improve the electoral process.

Any complaints or appeals regarding the electoral process should be addressed thoroughly and expeditiously using the appropriate procedures as foreseen in the legal framework of Armenia. The European Union is committed to supporting a stable, democratic and prosperous future for Armenia.

We are looking forward to working closely with the Armenian institutions, including the newly elected Parliament and government. The European Union calls on all political forces to now work together in order to effectively tackle the challenges Armenia is confronted with, in the interest of the Armenian citizens. The European Union stands ready to further strengthen our bilateral relations and to support Armenia in its important reform agenda based on the joint commitments in the EU-Armenia Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.