Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Bulgaria do not need a visitor's visa or a residence permit to Norway.                

If you are a citizen of an EU/EEA country or Switzerland, you do not need a residence permit, but must register with the police within three months of arriving in Norway.

Nationals of non-EU/EEA countries can apply for a visa or a residence permit at the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Bucharest. More information about the process and on what documents to bring can be found on their page.

Persons who do not need a visa to visit Norway (visa-free) - UDI

For information on residence permit applications from third country nationals in Bulgaria, please see the webpages of the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Ankara as Ankara is regional hub for visa and immigration cases. Applications for visitor's visa and residence permit for Norway from Bulgaria must be handed in at VFS Global Belgrade or VFS Global Prishtina.

Visa Applications to Norway from third country nationals in Bulgaria can be delivered to the Embassy of Finland in Sofia.

Requirements upon entry

Also, more information can be found here.