Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Kazakhstan (holding a Kazakhstani passport) need to apply for a visitor's visa to enter Norway. If you plan to stay longer than 90 days, you need to apply for a residence permit to enter Norway. 

The Embassy of Lithuania in Astana processes short stay Schengen visa applications for applicants from Kazakhstan on behalf of Norway.

All residence applications must be submitted in person at one of the VFS Global application centres in Kazakhstan, Ankara region, or the Russian region (Russia, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Armenia)

Please note that VFS Astana will no longer be open for receiving applications on behalf of Norway as of 01.04.2024. From this date, all residence applications have to be submitted at VFS Almaty.