Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Eswatini(holding a Eswatini passport) need to apply for a visitor's visa to enter Norway. If you plan to stay longer than 90 days, you need to apply for a residence permit to enter Norway.

The Royal Norwegian Embassy in Pretoria, South Africa, is responsible for applications for visitor's visas from Eswatini citizens and others legally residing in Eswatini.

Processing time

The processing time for a visitor's visa is normally 15 calendar days from the day the Norwegian Embassy in Pretoria receives a complete application. In some cases it may take longer.

Residence permits are processed by the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI). You can find information about processing times for different permits here.

You will receive notification when the application has been processed.