Skip to main content
Norway in the United States Royal Norwegian Embassy in Washington, and Consulates General in Houston, New York and San Francisco

Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Changes in the Government

In a session of the Council of State Oct. 20, 2017, the King made changes in the Government.

Minister of Defence Ine Eriksen Søreide has been appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Minister of EEA and EU Affairs Frank Bakke-Jensen has been appointed Minister of Defence. Mr. Bakke-Jensen continues as Norwegian member of the Nordic Council of Ministers, responsible for the coordination of Nordic cooperation affairs.

State Secretary Marit Berger Røsland has been appointed Minister of EEA and EU Affairs in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

At the same time, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Børge Brende, has been honourably discharged from his office.

The changes are effective as of Oct. 20, 2017.

The Government represents the Conservative Party (C) and the Progress Party (PrP):

Prime Minister Ms. Erna Solberg (C)

Minister of Finance Ms. Siv Jensen (PrP)

Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Mr.Jan Tore Sanner (C)

Minister of Transport and Communication Mr. Ketil Solvik-Olsen (PrP)

Minister of Trade and Industry Ms. Monica Mæland (C)

Minister of Climate and Environment Mr. Vidar Helgesen (C)

Minister of Children and Equality Ms. Solveig Horne (PrP)

Minister of Health and Care Services Mr. Bent Høie (C)

Minister of Foreign Affairs Ms. Ine Eriksen Søreide (C)

Minister of Immigration and Integration Ms. Sylvi Listhaug (PrP)

Minister of Fisheries Mr. Per Sandberg (PrP)

Minister of Labour and Social Affairs Ms. Anniken Hauglie (C)

Minister of Culture Ms. Linda Hofstad Helleland (C)

Minister of Agriculture and Food Mr. Jon Georg Dale (PrP)

Minister of Defence Mr. Frank Bakke-Jensen (C)

Minister of Petroleum and Energy Mr. Terje Søviknes (PrP)

Minister of Justice and Public Security Mr. Per-Willy Trudvang Amundsen (PrP)

Minister of Education and Research Mr. Henrik Asheim

Minister of EEA and EU Affairs Ms. Marit Berger Røsland (C)