New committee appointed for The International Ibsen Award

The Norwegian Minister of Culture and Equality has appointed the new Committee of The International Ibsen Award for 2019-22.

The members of the committee are: 

Ingrid Lorentzen, Oslo (chair)

Anders Beyer, Bergen

Maria Delgado, London

Roman Dolzhansky, Moscow (reappointed)

Hilkka-Liisa Iivanainen, Helsinki

Thomas Oberender, Berlin (reappointed for 2 years)

Hanne Tømta, Oslo (reappointed for 2 years)


"We are pleased with appointing a broad committee of people with such widespread international experience and deep knowledge of theatre and drama, also having competence on other scenic arts such as opera, ballet and performance," said Ms. Trine Skei Grande, Norwegian Minister of Culture and Equality.


Every second year, the Ibsen Award committee announces the winner of the International Ibsen Award, which amounts to 2.5 million NOK (about $US 284,000). The next prize is number 8 and will be handed out in 2020 during The International Ibsen Festival in Oslo.


The Ibsen Award honors an individual, institution or organization that has brought new artistic dimensions to the world of drama or theater.


Previous winners of the Award are:

Peter Brook, 2008

Ariane Mnouchkine, 2009

Jon Fosse, 2010

Heiner Goebbels, 2012

Peter Handke, 2014

Forced Entertainment, 2016

Christoph Marthaler, 2018