Travel and border information for Norway in Norwegian / English

Traveling to Norway? - Register your arrival in our traveler registry
(About the registry)

Joint Statement on the International Day against Homophobia and Transphobia

By the Heads of Missions to Ukraine of Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, the European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States Embassy

On the occasion of the International Day against Homophobia and Transphobia (IDAHOT) on 17 May, we once again reiterate our strong commitment to equality for all, including the fundamental rights to freedom from discrimination and to freedom of assembly.

On 7 February, the Ukrainian Parliament enshrined the Euro-Atlantic path of Ukraine in its Constitution, which is a continuation of the country's previous international commitment to adhere to democratic values and protection of human rights for all its citizens. Much progress has been made in the past five years, with the adoption of institutional reforms and relevant legislation. However, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) people remain vulnerable to sexual discrimination, including hate crimes and violation of their civil rights. To address this matter we encourage Ukraine to fully implement the National Human Rights Strategy and Action Plan, ratify the Istanbul Convention and undertake other necessary steps to ensure that comprehensive anti-discrimination measures are implemented.

To mark this day, LGBTIQ organizations will hold events in Zaporizhya, Kherson and Kyiv, among other cities. Throughout the summer and early fall, Pride Weeks and Equality marches will also be organized in Kyiv, Odesa, Mykolayiv, Kharkiv, Kryviy Rih and elsewhere. The theme of this year’s Kyiv Pride March - the largest in Ukraine - is "Freedom. Unity. Fight.” In recent years, Ukrainian law enforcement authorities have improved significantly their capacity to safeguard the right of LGBTIQ Ukrainians, along with their friends and families, to advocate for their rights in a peaceful and tolerant manner. We encourage Ukraine to build on this success and provide all the necessary support also this year.

Reflecting our commitment to promoting and protecting human rights and equality, the diplomatic community and International Organizations will participate in these marches and other events. We also invite government officials, parliamentarians, members of civil society, businesspeople and all Ukrainians to express their support.

We look forward to peaceful and safe Pride celebrations throughout Ukraine, as well as continued progress towards equality for all Ukrainians. 

Embassy of the Argentine Republic

H.E. Melissa O’Rourke, Ambassador of Australia

H.E. Hermine Poppeller, Ambassador of the Republic of Austria

H.E. Alex Lenaerts, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Belgium

H.E. Roman Waschuk, Ambassador of Canada

  1. E. Radek Matula, Ambassador of the Czech Republic

H.E. Louis Telemachou, Ambassador of the Republic of Cyprus

H.E. Ruben Madsen, Ambassador of Denmark

H.E. Gert Antsu, Ambassador of Estonia

H.E. Hugues Mingarelli, Ambassador, Head of the EU Delegation

H.E. Juha Virtanen, Ambassador of Finland

H.E. Isabelle Dumont, Ambassador of France

H.E. Ernst Reichel, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany

H.E. Davide La Cecilia, Ambassador of Italy

H.E. Juris Poikans, Ambassadors of Latvia

H.E. Marius Janukonis, Ambassador of Lithuania

H.E. Eduard Hoeks, Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

H.E. Ole Terje Horpestad, Ambassador of Norway

H.E. Maria Cristina Serpa de Almeida, Ambassador of Portugal

Chargé d'affaires Mateja Kračun, Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia

H.E. Martin Hagström, Ambassador of Sweden

H.E. Guillaume Scheurer, Ambassador of Switzerland

H.E. Judith Gough, Ambassador of the United Kingdom

Acting Deputy Chief of Mission Joseph Pennington, Embassy of the United States