Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

The Norwegian Embassy in Ankara is responsible for processing applications for visas and residence permits from Turkey, Azerbaijan, Syria, Ukraine, Kosovo, Albania, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia,Serbia, Montenegro and Romania. In addition, the Embassy receives applications for residence permits from Georgia, Turkmenistan, Moldova, Bulgaria and North-Macedonia. Norway is also handling visa applications from Azerbajan and Kosovo on behalf of Denmark and Iceland and residence cases on behalf of Denmark. If you are applying for a visa to Iceland or Denmark, you are to follow the same process as if you were to apply for a visa to Norway. If you are applying for a residence permit to Denmark please send an email to [email protected] for instruction on procedure.


Where to hand in my application

Please note that both visa and residence cases must be handed in at one of the visa applications centers of VFS Global in either VFS Global Turkey, VFS Global Ukraine, VFS Global Azerbaijan,VFS Global Kosovo or VFS Global Serbia.
For detailed information on the applications procedure, please refer to the webpages of the different VFS visa application centers provided below.


We would like to bring the attention to the importance of the following:

  • You should make sure to hand in your visa application at least 25 days before your planned date of travel. This is important because it will take several days sending your application back and forth to Ankara for processing. Normal caseprocessing time when the Embassy in Ankara has received your visa application, is 15 days (except 10 days for visas from citizens of Ukraine and Azerbaijan due to Visafacilitation Agreement between these countries and Norway)
  • If you apply for a residence permit, please note that the Embassy must have your passport together with the application in order to perform ID-control according to instructions from Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Norway. This means that if you are applying from VFS Prishtina or from VFS Baku it will take at least one week before your passport is back in Prishtina or Baku.

For information about the application procedures and requirements for applicants, kindly select your country from the list on

Do you have any questions regarding visa and residence applications to Norway?

Please note that The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Norway has made a global agreement with VFS Global regarding receiving applications for visa and residence permits, answering phonecalls and answering e-mails on behalf of Norwegian Embassies. Therefore, if you have any questions regarding your visa or residence permit to Norway, you must contact VFS Global. The main webpage of VFS Global is From here you can find contact details to the VFS applications centers in the country you want to hand in your application or you want to contact for questions. Below, you can also find the phonenumbers, e-mailadress and webpageadress directly to VFS Turkey, VFS Ukraine, VFS Azerbaijan,VFS Kosovo and VFS Serbia.

Your contactpoint is VFS.

Phonenumbers VFS Global:
For Turkey: +90 0212 373 5816
For Azerbaijan: +994 12 404 76 38 or +994 12 404 76 56
For Ukraine: + 38 044 5945 495 or + 38 050 3238 599
For Kosovo: +383 38 412 712 or +383 38 412 812                                               

For Serbia:+381117357366

E-mails VFS Global:
For Turkey: [email protected]
For Azerbaijan: [email protected]
For Ukraine: [email protected]
For Kosovo: [email protected]                                                       

For Serbia: [email protected]

Webpage VFS Global:
For Turkey:
For Azerbaijan:
For Ukraine:
For Kosovo:                                                 

For Serbia: 

If VFS is not able to assist you, you may contact the Visa Team at the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Ankara by e-mail: [email protected]

Please note that it is not possible to hand in your application at the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara or show up at the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara to hand in appeal or talk to the Visasection, unless the Embassy has spesifically asked you to appear in person at the Embassy and you have a confirmed appointment.
For all other information on rules and regulations on visas and residence permits to Norway, please go to our webpage:


Processing of personal data in relation to your visa application (information will follow in English)

Vize başvurunuzla ilgili kişisel verilerin işlenmesi (bilgiler İngilizce olarak takip edilecektir)

Обробка персональних даних, що стосуються вашої візової заявки (інформація за посиланням англійською мовою)