Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Important notice! From 2nd of March 2020 all applications will be sent to New York, USA.

New regional hub system for immigration cases:

As of the 2nd of March 2020, the Norwegian Embassy in Brazil will no longer receive applications for visitor’s visa or residence permit to Norway submitted at the VFS Norway Visa Application Center in Brasília. Instead, your application will be sent to the Norwegian Consulate General in New York City, United States.

What will change?

Although your application will be sent to another mission, you will still be able to submit the application and collect your passport and decision documents from the same VFS application center in Rio de Janeiro.

Whereas the application procedures remain the same, please be informed that certain applications submitted in Brazil also will be subject to a courier fee to cover transportation of the application documents between the VFS application centre and New York. The courier fee will only be charged if you need a visa to go to Norway or the Schengen area as your passport must be sent to the hub mission in New York for the issuance of a visa. If you do not need a visa to go to Norway, your passport will be returned to you within few days after you submitted your application to VFS.

Not sure if you need a visa? List of third countries whose nationals must be in possession of a visa when crossing the external borders.

The application fee and service fee will remain unchanged. See our ‘Application fees at a glance’-section for further information.

Travelling to a different Schengen country?

Please note that Norway will continue to represent Sweden, Iceland and Denmark, which means that visa applications for these countries also will be sent to and processed by the Norwegian Consulate General in New York starting 2nd of March 2020.