Regional Hub

As of the 31st of July 2019, applications for a visitor’s visa or residence permit to Norway from Sri Lanka will be sent to the Norwegian Embassy in New Delhi, India, which will become a regional hub for immigration from India, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Nepal and Bhutan.

This does not affect where and how you apply, but there are some changes you should be aware of:

Where to apply?
As before, all applicants in Sri Lanka must meet and apply in person at the VFS application center in Colombo. VFS Global will ensure that the applications are sent to New Delhi for further processing. You will also still be able to collect the decision documents at VFS Global.

Introduction of a courier fee
As before, there will be an application fee payable online when you register your application in the Application Portal Norway, and a service fee charged by VFS Global. What is new, is that applications submitted in Sri Lanka also will be subject to a courier fee to cover transportation of the application documents between the visa application centre and New Delhi, India. These fees are payable to VFS Global on your application day.

For information about fees, including refund policies, see the website of VFS Global and UDI's fee overview.

Extended waiting time for Schengen visa to Norway
The processing time for Schengen visas to Norway is normally up to 15 days from the date the application is received at the Embassy in New Delhi. Please take note that you should account for an additional 3-6 days for sending the application documents between the VFS application centre in Colombo and New Delhi. We highly recommend that you apply well in advance, at least 4 weeks prior to your planned trip.

Ongoing applications
Applications for Schengen visa submitted prior to 31st of July 2019 will be processed and finalized by the Embassy in Colombo. If you have applied for a residence permit prior to 31st of July 2019, you will be notified about the decision either by the VFS application centre or by the Hub Embassy in New Delhi. If you have given someone Power of attorney to represent you in your case, the notification will be sent to the person you have authorised.

Travelling to a different Schengen country?
Please note that Norway will continue to represent the following countries in the processing of visa applications from Sri Lanka: Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Lithuania. If you are applying for a visa to travel to one of these countries, you are to follow the same procedure as if you are applying for a visa to Norway. Hence, these applications will also be sent to and processed by the Norwegian Embassy in New Delhi, India starting 31st of July 2019.