Joint statement on the death penalty

Norway, EU and other likeminded embassies in Sri Lanka call on the Sri Lankan Government to maintain its moratorium on the death penalty in line with its vote at the 73rd United Nations General Assembly in December 2018.

Norway opposes all use of death penalty. The death penalty is an unacceptable denial of human dignity and integrity. 

Read the following statement issued by the Delegation of the European Union (EU) in agreement with the Embassies of France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Romania and the UK High Commission, the Embassies of Norway and Switzerland, as well as the High Commissions of Canada and Australia here.