Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Airport traveller drawing - Photo:Ingrid Asp / ASD
Ingrid Asp / ASD

Covid 19- travel to the Republic of Korea


Travel Advice: Until further notice, and as a consequence of the global covid 19 pandemic ,the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs is advising against non-essential travel to the Republic of Korea. This travel advice may have implications for your travel insurance.

Travel Information: To prevent the further spread of coronavirus in Korea, the South Korean government has decided to temporarily suspend Waiver of Visa for 90 countries, including Norway. This measure came into effect on 13 April 2020. Norwegian citizens who plan to visit the Republic of Korea should contact their nearest South Korean Embassy to apply for a visa. 

In addition to the above, short term visas (C1 and C3) that were issued on or before 5th April has been temporarily suspended. Long-term visas and short-term employment visa (visa type C-4) that were issued before this date are still valid. Visitors are advised to contact a South Korean Embassy to obtain the latest information.

Starting from June 1st all foreigners who reside in South Korea with long-term visas shall have to apply for a Re-Entry Permit through a local immigration office before leaving Korea if they wish to maintain their status and period of stay. If you leave Korea without a Re-Entry Permit, your long-term visa becomes invalid, and you will have to obtain a new long-term visa to re-enter the country.

All foreigners who are granted a Re-Entry Permit and wish to re-enter South Korea must undergo a medical examination not earlier than 48 hours prior to the date of their departure to Korea. A written diagnosis must be presented to transport operator and immigration officer when requested. The diagnosis shall be written in English or Korean, signed by a medical examiner and issued by an authorized medical institution. It shall include the date of the examination and the presence or absence of fever, cough, chills, headache, breathing difficulty, muscle pain and pulmonary symptoms.  

The requirement for a Re-Entry Permit does not apply to holders of A-1 (diplomatic), A-2 (Official), A-3 (Treaties) and F-4 (overseas Koreans) visas.

Please refer to the Hi Korea website ( for more details on the application procedure, documents to be submitted and the application fee, etc.


All persons entering from the EU and Schengen area have to go through a special entry procedure upon arrival in Republic of Korea. This includes a mandatory test for Covid-19. From May 15th asymptomatic travelers with long-term visas are not required to get tested at the airport, but will be given three days from their arrival for testing. 14 days quarantine is required, even when the test result is negative. Travelers will also have to provide an address and contact number in Republic of Korea and download two applications to their phone (tracing app and self-diagnosis app).

As of April 1st, the Korean Government requires all overseas travelers, regardless of nationality or length of stay, to self-quarantine for 14 days. Persons who have a residence in the Republic of Korea may stay at home. Those without a residence will be quarantined in government-arranged facilities on his/her own expense (approximately 150,000 won a day). It is not permitted to leave one’s home/quarantine facilities for the 14 days quarantine except to go to the hospital. Local governments will provide essential products/food for persons in self-isolation. Failure to comply with public health authority’s orders will result in the revocation of visa and permission to stay, and can lead to deportation and an entry ban.


As many airlines for the time being are cancelling or reducing the number flights to and from South Korea, travellers are advised to check any updates with their airline.

The Korea Immigration Service and the Korean Center for Disease Control (KCDC) run Contact Centre Hotlines which provide counselling and interpretation to foreign nationals regarding Novel Coronavirus.

  • Korea Immigration Service – 1345
  • KCDC – 1339 

Useful links:

Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs Travel Advice

Norwegian Institute of Public Health

Korea Centre for Disease Control and Prevention

COVID-19 Update by the Ministry of Health and Welfare, Republic of Korea