Global travel advice from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to be extended. Changes in the travel advice for the Nordic countries and Europe

1. The global travel advice will be extended to apply until 15 January 2021. With regard to countries in the Schengen area/EEA, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is maintaining its advice against non-essential travel to all countries apart from those for which an exception has been made.

However, the exceptions to the travel advice are not to be taken as encouragement to travel abroad.

Until further notice, people arriving from countries outside the Schengen area/EEA (third-country nationals) that are not covered by exemptions will still be refused entry into Norway. (See the regulations on Lovdata).


2. Changes for the Nordic region and Europe this week

The Ministry is now advising against non-essential travel to Iceland and Lithuania as well as to the regions of Keski-Suomi and Päijät Häme in Finland, and the region of Västerbotten in Sweden. These changes apply from midnight on Friday 25 September.

In addition to Iceland and Lithuania, the Ministry advises against non-essential travel to the following countries and regions in the Schengen area/EEA: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, the UK, the Vatican State, and certain regions in Sweden and Finland. See the list published on the website of the Norwegian Institute of Public Health

From midnight on Friday 25 September, anyone arriving in Norway from these countries and regions will be required to go into quarantine for 10 days. See the website of the Norwegian Institute of Public Health for more information.

For an updated overview of countries in the Schengen area/EEA and the Nordic countries and regions that are excepted from the travel advice, see the Institute of Public Health’s map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe and the Ministry’s travel information.