Norway, Serbia, Macedonia and Montenegro bid for Eurosong crown

eurovision 2017.png
The competition will take place on May 9 and 11.

As the 62nd Eurovision Song Contest is approaching, Norway and the three Balkan countries have selected their representatives for the semi finals due to be held in Kiev on May 9 and 11.

Norway will be represented by Jowst, also known as Joakin With Steen, who is a DJ, music producer and songwriter. He won Norway’s national selection – ‘Melodi Grand Prix’ performing ‘Grab The Moment’. It is a catchy, up-tempo track, which has grown on the Norwegian jury and audience.

Tijana Bogicevic, who graced the Eurovision stage in 2011 as backing singer, will represent Serbia in Kiev. She has got a good team of producers and hopes to win this time. She has a few band sessions amongst other records on YouTube.

Montenegro is sending Slavko Kalezic who will be singing “Space” written by Momcilo Zekovic, who is from the popular Montenegrin group Perper.

Macedonian public service broadcaster MKRTV (Macedonian Radio Television) has selected Jana Burceska. She has previously taken part in different contests, including the first season of Macedonian Idol in 2011, where she came in fifth.

Jana, Tijana, Slavko and Jowst will be competing against each other in Kiev on May 9 and 11.

So far, Norway won the contest on three occasions, Serbia once, while Macedonia and Montenegro only made it to the finals.  

Held annually since 1956, the Eurovision Song Contest is the biggest live non-sports event in the world with over 100 million viewers, surpassed only as a live spectacle by the Olympics opening ceremony and the Football World Cup Final.