The Abel Prize has announced their 2019 winner

Et portrett bilde av vinneren Karen Uhlenbeck - Photo:Marsha Miller
Karen Uhlenbeck. Bildet er tatt av Marsha Miller.

Karen Uhlenbeck is the first woman to win the Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize in
Mathematics for 2019 to Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck of the University of Texas at Austin, USA. For 
"her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory and
integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and
mathematical physics."

For more information about the Abel Prize and Ms. Uhlenbeck, please click here.