Skip to main content
Norway in Saudi Arabia Royal Norwegian Embassy in Riyadh

Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Travelinformation Norway - Photo:MFA/Birkely

Global travel advice from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to be extended.

The global travel advice will be extended to apply until 1 March 2021. With regard to countries in the Schengen area/EEA, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is maintaining its advice against non-essential travel to all countries apart from those for which an exception has been made.

The decision to extend the global travel advice has been taken on the basis of a variety of factors, including the global Covid-19 situation, uncertainty regarding how the pandemic will develop, the capacity of other countries’ health services and the travel restrictions that apply in other countries. The Government has given high priority to limiting the import of infection to Norway, and this will continue to be an important consideration moving forward as well.

‘Although we have been dealing with the pandemic for almost a year, the situation is still very far from normal and the levels of infection are changing rapidly. Therefore we have chosen to maintain our global travel advice against non-essential travel to all countries. We will continue to make exceptions for countries in the Schengen area/EEA where the rate of transmission is considered to be sufficiently low. The travel restrictions are expected to still be in place when the Easter holidays come, and people should not make plans to travel abroad at that time,’ said Minister of Foreign Affairs Ine Eriksen Søreide.

Currently, exceptions to the travel advice only apply to a few areas in Finland. The Ministry advises against non-essential travel to the following countries and regions in the Schengen area/EEA: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the Vatican State, and certain areas of Denmark and Finland. See the list published on the website of the Norwegian Institute of Public Health. The health authorities will continue to review the infection situation weekly, and the global travel advice will be updated on the basis of their findings.

For an updated overview of countries in the Schengen area/EEA and the Nordic countries and regions that are excepted from the travel advice, see the Institute of Public Health’s map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe and the Ministry’s travel information


Mandatory testing for travellers to Norway

From January 2nd 2021, the government has imposed mandatory testing for Covid-19 for all travellers to Norway. The test must be done as soon as possible and within 24 hours after arrival at the latest. Travellers must enter Norway through border stations with testing facilities or through border stations with police control. Several smaller border stations will be closed.


Travel to Norway

To improve infection control, several measures have been introduced regarding travel to Norway. All persons travelling to Norway from red countries/regions are required to familiarise themselves with important information about entry registration, entry quarantine, test obligation and quarantine hotels.


Information for Norwegian citizens about travel and the coronavirus

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is maintaining its global advice against all non-essential travel to all countries. This advice currently applies until 15 January 2021. Exceptions have been made for countries and regions in the Nordic region and in the Schengen area/EEA that meet the criteria for infection levels set by the Norwegian Institute of Public Health. The infection situation and local restrictions can change very quickly. Anyone considering a trip abroad should think carefully about whether it is necessary to travel.