Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Norway Elected to UN Security Council

Norway will take up its seat on the Security Council on Jan. 1, 2021, and will be a member of the Council until Dec. 31, 2022. It has been 20 years since Norway last had a seat on the Council, in 2001–02.

| Cairo

In 2021, in addition to the five permanent members – the United States, France, the UK, China and Russia – Norway will sit on the Security Council with the other elected members, Estonia, Vietnam, Niger, Tunisia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, in addition to Ireland, India and Mexico for the whole period.

Read more about the Government’s priorities: