Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Djiboutian citizens must apply for a visitor's visa. Likewise, citizens of Djibouti need a residence permit in order to work or to take up residence for longer than 90 days.

Please note:

VFS Nairobi and VFS Dar es Salaam are opening up again from Monday 22nd June. VFS Kampala and VFS Addis Ababa will open from Monday 29th June. Please note that the opening hours will be from 8 am to 1 pm on Mondays and Wednesdays. Please also note that they will only accept applications and resubmissions for residence permits.

Due to COVID-19 and restrictions on who can enter into Norway, no Schengen visas are being processed unless there is an extraordinary case. You can read more about it here

Applications for visitor’s visas and residence permits for Norway are handled by the Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi, Kenya. All applications are to be submitted through VFS Global in Addis Ababa.

VFS Global webpage:

Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi webpage:


The Embassy of Norway in Ethiopia, is handling visitor's visa matters Djiboutian citizens. Information can be found on the website for the Embassy of Norway.