Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of the Democratic Republic of Congo must apply for a visitor's visa if they wish to visit Norway for 90 days or less. Likewise, citizens of the Democratic Republic of Congo need a residence permit in order to work or to take up residence for longer than 90 days.

Covid-19 and entry requirements to Norway
The Norwegian government has announced that from the 9th of November 2020 the following entry requirements to Norway apply:

  • Travelers from "red" countries must show a certificate of a negative Covid-19 test when entering Norway. The test must have been taken less than 72 hours before entry. Here you can read more about the test and who the requirement applies to.
  • Those who do not reside in Norway, or have an employer or client in Norway who can provide a suitable place to stay when entering Norway, must stay in a quarantine hotel for the first 10 days after entry to Norway. It is still possible to visit Norway, but visitors must spend their first 10 days at a quarantine hotel and have themselves tested during their quarantine period.

The Norwegian health authorities are responsible for the new rules (external website).

You will find relevant information regarding entry and quarantine requirements on the following websites:

Please note that the final control of the entry conditions occurs when you cross the Schengen external border.

For more information about the entry restrictions that have entered into force as a result of the Covid-19 situation, please visit UDI's information page about the Corona situation

Representation agreement: Norway is represented by Belgium in the Democratic Republic of Congo (European Visa Centre. Avenue Pierre Mulele s/n ex 24 Novembre), and applicants in the Democratic Republic of Congo must go to the European Visa Centre to apply for a visa. Before you can submit your application you must register your application and book an appointment online by following the information on the web page: (E-mail:

Please note the following: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the representation agreement Norway has with Belgium in the Democratic Republic of Congo has been temporarily suspended until further notice. As a result, applicants in the Democratic Republic of Congo who wish to apply for a visa to travel Norway must now submit their visa applications at the VFS Global Visa Application Centre in either Nairobi, Addis Ababa, Kampala or Dar es Salaam.   

VFS Global: VFS Global's Visa Application Centers in Nairobi, Kampala, Dar es Salaam and Addis Ababa are open, but with reduced capacity. Please visit for more information and to make an appointment.

Interviews: Interviews may be carried out at the VFS Global Visa Application Centers in Nairobi, Addis Ababa, Kampala and Dar es Salaam at this time. However, as the situation may rapidly change, applicants are advised to contact the Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi to enquire about the current status. 

DNA-tests: To protect our staff and applicants from the risk of contracting Covid-19, it is not possible for the missions in Addis Ababa and Khartoum to collect DNA-samples at this time. As soon as the situation changes we will start contacting applicants to make appointments for DNA-testing. DNA-samples may be collected at our missions in Nairobi and Kampala.

Residence permits
Applications for residence permits are handled by the Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi, Kenya. All applications must be submitted through a VFS Global application center working in partnership with the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Nairobi, i.e. in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania or Ethiopia. 

Le visa de visiteur permet de séjourner en Norvège et dans d’autres pays de l’espace Schengen pendant un maximum de 90 jours répartis sur une période de 180 jours. Le permis de séjour, quant à lui, donne la possibilité de travailler ou séjourner en Norvège pendant plus de 90 jours. 

Les citoyens de la République Démocratique du Congo doivent demander un visa de visiteur s’ils souhaitant visiter la Norvège pendant 90 jours ou moins. De même, les citoyens de la République Démocratique du Congo ont besoin d’un permis de séjour pour travailler ou pour residér plus de 90 jours.

La Norvège est représentée par la Belgique en RDC (Centre européen des visas). Toutefois, les demandeurs de visa de la RDC doivent se rendre au Centre Européen des visas pour demander un visa.

Avis Aux Ressortissants de la République Démocratique Du Congo
En matière de Visas court séjour (Visa Schengen), la Norvège est représentée par l’Ambassade de Belgique en RDC. Toutefois, les demandeurs de visa de la RDC doivent se rendre au Centre européen des visas (C.E.V.) pour deposer ses documents. Avant d’introduire votre demande au C.E.V. veuillez remplir votre formulaire en ligne ainsi que créer un rendez-vous en suivant les instructions sur le site: (E-mail:

Toutes les demandes de permis de séjour sont gérées par l’Ambassade de Norvège à Nairobi, Kenya. Les documents doivent être déposés auprès d’un centre de visa opéré par VFS Global.

Pour plus d´informations s´il vous plait contacter l’Ambassade de Norvège à Nairobi.