Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Citizens of Bulgaria do not need a visitor's visa or a residence permit.                

If you are a citizen of an EU/EEA country or Switzerland, you do not need a residence permit, but must register with the police within three months of arriving in Norway.

Nationals of non-EU/EEA countries can apply for a visa or a residence permit at the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Bucharest. More information about the process and on what documents to bring can be found on their page.

Applications for a visitor's visa can also be delivered to the Embassy of Finland in Sofia.

Please note the following:

New restrictions on entry into Norway (COVID-19):

As of Monday 9th of November 2020 there are new requirements in the entry regulations to Norway for travellers. Negative Covid 19 -test must be presented upon arrival and new hotel-quarantine requirements are implemented. Please read more about requirement for negativ Covid 19-test upon arrival here, and detailed information on hotel-quarantine regulations here