Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

The Norwegian Embassy in Pretoria is responsible for processing applications for Schengen visas and residence permits from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi and South Africa.

In addition, the Embassy is also responsible for residence permit applications from Angola, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


COVID-19: Extraordinary entry rules to Norway have been lifted, but new entry measures apply when travelling

The entry restrictions introduced due to the corona situation have been lifted. All foreigners who have the right to entry according to the rules of the Immigration Act can travel to Norway now. You can travel to Norway if you:

  • have a valid residence permit, or you have a right of residence in Norway
  • have a valid visitor´s visa or entry visa to Norway
  • have the right to visit Norway without a visa
  • are going to apply for protection (asylum) in Norway

This means that there are no entry restrictions to Norway due to the corona situation now, but there are new and stricter requirements for registration, testing when you travel into Norway and quarantine. You must familiarize yourself with these measures before entering the Schengen area. If you do not comply with all entry measures in force, you will be refused entry to Norway.

Requirements upon entry

Also, more information can be found here.


Applications must be submitted through the services of VFS Global either in South Africa or in Malawi.

For information about the application procedures and requirements for applicants outside South Africa, kindly select your country from the list on