Travel and border information for Norway

Information in Norwegian / English

Visitor’s visa and residence permit

A visitor's visa allows you to stay in Norway or other Schengen countries for up to 90 days over a period of 180 days. A residence permit gives you the opportunity to work in Norway and to stay for more than 90 days.

Opening for applications for residence permits to Norway

The Norwegian Embassy in Ankara will open for applications for residence permits to Norway from July 1st from Turkey, Ukraine, Kosovo and Serbia. Please note that it has not been opened for applications for c-visa yet.

All applications for residence permits must be handed in at one of the VFS applications centers. Please note that it is mandatory to book appointment.

Opening dates for different application centers:

VFS Ankara: July 1st

VFS Istanbul: July 8th

VFS Antalya: July 1st

VFS Izmir: July 1st

VFS Kyiv: July 1st

VFS Lviv: July 1st

VFS Kharkiv: July 1st

VFS Prishtina: July 1st

VFS Belgrade: July 1st

VFS Baku: remains closed due to the COVID-19 national restrictions

Hapja për aplikime për leje qëndrimi në Norvegji

Ambasada Norvegjeze në Ankara nga data 1 Korrik do të hapet për aplikime për leje qëndrimi në Norvegji nga Turqia, Ukraina, Kosova dhe Serbia. Keni parasysh që Ambasada ende nuk është hapur për aplikime për vizë C.

Të gjitha aplikimet për leje qëndrimi duhet të dorëzohen në një nga qendrat e aplikimeve VFS. Ju lutemi keni parasysh se është e detyrueshme të caktoni termin.

Datat e hapjes për qendra të ndryshme të aplikimit:

VFS Ankara: 1 Korrik

VFS Stamboll: 8 Korrik

VFS Antalya: 1 Korrik

VFS Izmir: 1 Korrik

VFS Kyiv: 1 Korrik

VFS Lviv: 1 Korrik

VFS Kharkiv: 1 Korrik

VFS Prishtinë: 1 Korrik

VFS Beograd: 1 Korrik

VFS Baku: 1 Korrik

COVID-19 – virus

Restrictions on entry into Norway (COVID-19):

The Norwegian Government has implemented extensive restrictions on entry into Norway due to the spread of COVID-19. As a result, foreigners who do not hold a valid residence permit in Norway will be rejected at the border and refused entry into Norway under provisions of a Norwegian law relating to the control of communicable diseases. For the time being and until further notice, visas for visitors to Norway will not be granted.

For more information on the entry restrictions to Norway, please visit:

For any enquiries, please contact VFS Call center.


Regulation relating to rejection of foreign nationals without a residence permit out of concern for public health

In Norwegian:

In English:

Covid 19: Instruction on the processing of visa cases to Norway. All visa applications must be rejected, no visas must be issued, except in extraordinary situations

In Norwegian:


Citizens of Albania do not need a visitor's visa.

Certain rules apply to visa free travel. Details can be found on the UDI’s website: Visit Norway without a visa on UDIs webpage (external page).

Information to applicants residing in Albania:

Applications for visitor’s visa and residence permit for Norway are handled by the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara, Turkey. You may submit your application at one of the VFS Global application centers in Kosovo, Serbia or Turkey which collaborate with the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara.